Provider Certification

Prior to applying for certification, please read and understand the conditions of participation and service requirements for which you are seeking certification. View this information as well as all the current effective rules.

Please review each of the options below and select the appropriate provider type for which you would like to apply for certification. To review certification instructions and the link to our online application, click on a provider type below.

Individual Providers

A person who will be the employee of the PASSPORT consumer and is directly supervised by the PASSPORT consumer.

Choices Home Care Attendant
This type of provider will furnish specific activities to support the needs of an individual consumer. (Example: general household assistance, etc.)

Consumer-Directed Personal Care Provider
This type of provider will furnish personal care services and homemaking tasks appropriate to a consumer’s need. Education requirements apply.

Long-Term Care Agency Providers

Long-Term Care Agency Provider
This type of provider is a legally-organized entity which employs staff to perform the type of services the agency is seeking to be certified. (Example: Agency provides personal care service – employees include home health aides, nurse, etc.)

Long-Term Care Non-Agency Providers

Long-Term Care Non-Agency Provider
This type of provider is a legally-organized entity which is owned and controlled by one person and does not employee staff. (Example: Bob’s Handyman Service – is a sole proprietor and does not employee staff.)

Home Care Attendant Non-Agency Provider
This provider type is an unlicensed individual who will perform skilled tasks which would otherwise be completed by a nurse. This provider type will secure the services of an RN or an LPN (at the direction of an RN). Education requirements apply.

Waiver Nursing Non-Agency Provider
This provider type is a registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical nurse (LPN) at the direction of an RN who is not employed through an agency.

Assisted Living Waiver Providers

Assisted Living Waiver Provider
This provider type is a residential care facility in receipt of a license from the Ohio Department of Health.


Electronic Visit Verification

Webinar for agency providers who are using or who are interested in using an alternate EVV system

September 26, 2018 | 10 a.m.


Electronic Visit Verification, or EVV,  is a requirement under the 21st Century Cures Act, a federal law passed in December of 2016. Under the 21st Century Cures Act, states must implement an electronic system to verify certain home and community based services were delivered in order to continue receiving federal financial support toward the costs of those services.

Learn more from the Ohio Department of Medicaid.

Please email with questions regarding the EVV implementation. If you are a provider and need help, please call the EVV provider hotline at 1-855-805-3505.

Application Fee

In accordance with federal requirements described in 42 CFR 445.460 and per Ohio Administrative Code 5160-1-17.8, the Ohio Department of Aging will begin collecting a Medicaid application fee effective April 15, 2016.  The fee is currently $569 per application and is non-refundable. The fee applies to agency and assisted living applicants only. The fee will not be required if the agency or assisted living applicant has paid the fee to either Medicare or another state’s Medicaid provider enrollment program (such as the Ohio Department of Medicaid, the Ohio Department of Developmental Disabilities, or outside of Ohio) within the past two years.  However, the Department of Aging requires the agency or assisted living applicant submit proof of payment with their application.

The Medicaid application fee does not apply to individual or non-agency applicants.

Social Security COLA

The Social Security Administration announced a two percent Cost of Living Adjustment (COLA) effective Jan. 1, 2018. The Assisted Living Waiver established room and board rate is the current SSI federal benefit rate minus $50.00.  Please contact your Area Agency on Aging for more information.

Heightened Scrutiny Workflow

On March 17, 2014, the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) issued its final rule regarding settings for home and community-based services (HCBS) offered through the Assisted Living Waiver and the PASSPORT Waiver. For those settings that are presumed to be institutional, the state may submit evidence to CMS demonstrating the setting does not have the qualities of an institution. Accordingly, to ensure the Heightened Scrutiny process is integrated into the Ohio Department of Aging (ODA) workflow to become a certified ODA provider, ODA will adopt this process for reviewing new provider applications.

Consumer-Directed Providers

On Tuesday, October 6, 2015, Chief Justice John Roberts of the United States Supreme Court denied an application that would have stayed implementation of the US Department of Labor's Home Care Final Rule. The rule applies minimum wage and overtime protections to domestic service workers.

This change is applicable to non-agency waiver nurses, non-agency home care attendants, choices home care attendant and consumer-directed personal care providers effective Jan. 1, 2016.

ODA has issued guidance to non-agency waiver nurses and home care attendants and Choices home care attendants and consumer-directed personal care service providers regarding overtime billing.